X-Gen apocalypse or Y2K WTF

I haven’t been posting recently as time as really gotten away from me. I use this blog as a way to soapbox my ideas in a way in which people can choose to follow or not follow me. I seldom do politics, but sometimes you have to take a step out and post what you are thinking.

timthumb

I have noticed a huge divide in society as of late. And no, this isn’t about Trump and Clinton. Nor is this about race and morality in the new millennium. Today I want to address the imagined battle between Generation X (aka my generation) and Millennials. I say “imagined” because I sincerely do not understand this us versus them mentality that both generations seem to embody.

download-1

This divide is most prevalent in the posts found on LinkedIn. I joined the ranks of LinkedIn several years ago. My current career requires that I be a part of this social/business machine. I have used it to learn about trends in my industry, reaching people who can benefit from my company offerings and keeping job prospects in an ever uncertain economy. The pages are ripe with articles about Gen X versus the New Millennials. Gen X writers speak of them as the scourge of business. Millennial writers speak to the “greed and old fashioned notions” of Gen X.

linkedin_logo-svg

A simple fact is that our predisposition in life is to raise your replacements. This the very way that humanity and every other species on the planet, continues into the next generation. Each generation actively seeks to sire a usurper to our “throne”. I fear that as we grow smarter, our wisdom is not growing at the same rate. We seem to be able to process the way in which things happen, economy, life cycles, genetics etc. But we never seemed to fathom the implications of this knowledge, people grow old, times change, technology changes the landscape etc.

8609fe9a6af63766f3d08b1987d8b0be

The parents in the Victorian age were out raged by women who wanted to vote. The baby boomers were outraged by civil inequalities. Generation X was outraged by the conformity of the baby boomers. Millennials are seeking equality in gender identification and inclusion. If you look back and look at the issues each generation faced, they all seem antiquated. I am speaking of course of fully developed countries (or first world countries as the old system used to call them). I do not discount the suffering of certain countries that still offer no protection to women, gays, trans, other religions etc.

all-rights-for-all

My best advice to both generations is simple. Get over yourself. New isn’t always better. The way things used to be wasn’t always the best way. Show respect to your elders. Show respect to your next generation. Be both leaders and followers. Collaborate. And most importantly stop looking at how we are different. Start looking at the ways we are the same. Appreciate the fresh approaches and revere the established etiquettes.

work-habits

Like almost everything else under the sun, we can be more than we are. We simply have to stop believing that there is a “them”. It is only “us”. It always has been and it always will be. So stop buying in to the overly embellished war between the generations and simply be humans.

cple5ebw8aadgkz

Share your thoughts

